|
(859)
744-5661
Mon. - Thurs.
9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday:
9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Saturday:
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday:
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
|
|
| |
|
American History & Life
 |
America:
History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the
history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory
to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to
present, this database is without question the most important
bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and
Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to
book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is
balanced by an international perspective on topics and events,
including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40
languages. |
|
|
Auto Repair Reference Center
 |
Database content includes more than 33,800 vehicles covered from
1945 to present, nearly 800,000 drawings and step-by-step
photographs, approximately 83,200 technical service bulletins &
recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over
99,800 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing,
specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide &
Estimator; AutoIQ, Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership
& maintenance, unlimited remote access and much more. New repair
procedures and updates are continually added to the product. All of
the content in Auto Repair Reference Center has been created by ASE
certified technicians. |
|
|
Business Searching Interface
 |
Business Source® Premier,
the industry's most popular business research database, features the
full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back
to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
|
|
|
Coin Career Library
 |
Career Library offers a comprehensive information resource for
career and college research. Users can explore interests and
aptitude to match their interests to occupations and education
prospects. Career Library also provides resources to practice tests
and skills, build resumes and plan for technical, military or
professional jobs. |
|
|
EbscoHost
 |
EBSCO Host
is a collection of databases (indexes) that will help you identify
and access articles in scholarly journals, newspapers, and popular
magazines. Many of the articles in EBSCO Host are full-text. This
collection includes Academic Search Premier, which is a
multidisciplinary database that indexes select journals in a variety
of subject areas, as well as some popular magazines and newspapers.
Other databases in EBSCO Host are discipline-specific and index
scholarly and professional literature including some book chapters,
proceedings, and dissertations.
|
|
|
Herald-Leader
 |
This
database will allow you to access both the Lexington Herald-Leader and the
Louisville Courier-Journal and provide full access to their archive
collections, thereby enabling you to download and print articles from
past issues of these newspapers. Click on the link above and go to "America's Newspapers."
|
|
|
Heritage Quest
 |
HeritageQuest provides complete US
Federal Census information from 1790-1930, as well as a genealogy and
local history collection of 25,000+ family and local history books.
You will be prompted to enter your barcode or ID. Enter the barcode on
the back of your library card (14 digits). |
|
|
Kentucky
Virtual Library
 |
KYVL
allows students from K-12 to graduate level access to a wide variety of
newspaper, encyclopedia, magazine, and scholarly /academic journal
articles. KYVL includes other tools such as Novelist, a database
designed to help library users better choose recreational reading for
themselves.
To
access this website you will need to first ask a staff member for the
User ID and Password or call the library (at 744-5661) to receive them.
Once you have these, you can click on the button
above. |
|
|
Learning Express
 |
The
LearnATest site offers a wide array of practice tests. The way it works
is that when you log on, you create an account, with a User ID and a
Password. Next you select a practice test to take from the menu. You
start the test, following the instructions. These tests are designed to
look and feel just like the real thing. When you finish, the site will
offer feedback after scoring the test. If you cannot complete the test
in one sitting, a “Finish Later” button is offered. When you return, and
enter your User ID and Password, you can return to the test.
|
Tests available at Learning
Express:
|
|
|
New York Times
 |
New York Times Archive – 1985 to Current
Find full-text articles on
local news, issues, events, people and much more from current
and archived issues of *The New York Times*. Updated daily, it
includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate
and other sections.
|
|
|
Newsbank
 |
This
database will allow you to access both the Lexington Herald-Leader
and the New York Times and provide full access to their archive
collections, thereby enabling you to download and print articles from
past issues of these newspapers. Click on the link above and go to "America's Newspapers."
|
|
|
NoveList Plus
 |
Meeting your pleasure reading needs is of critical importance. But
it could take a lifetime of experience and study to become familiar
with all of the genres, authors and subjects your library has to
offer, not to mention appeal factors such as pacing,
characterization, frame and story line. Fortunately, NoveList Plus
is here to help you find that next great read. With well over
200,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus
feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book
Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList
Plus is a complete readers’ resource. |
|
|
Points of View
 |
Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to
provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides
of a current issue. The database provides 255 topics, each with an
overview (objective background/description), point (argument),
counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
Topics are chosen to reflect current topics of debate. Points of
View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all
viewpoints, including 1,143 main essays, leading political magazines
from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news
transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The
database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and
writing position papers. Additionally, this database contains the
Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century, providing students with a
searchable collection of some of the most important social,
political, and cultural moments of the 20th century. |
|
|
Reference USA
 |
Reference USA contains
detailed information on more than 12 million businesses and 102
million U.S. residents. Information is compiled from more than
5,600 Yellow Page telephone directories and more than 3,900
White Page telephone directories. Unlisted numbers are not
included. This database is searchable by name, geographic area
or zip code. Users can find company size, top personnel, credit
rating, yearly sales ranges, and more.
|
|
|
Research Starters Sociology
 |
Research Starters provides students with a solid
foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview
information on topics relevant to sociological studies.
Comprehensive summaries of discipline-specific topics help students
to grasp the broad outlines of a subject, realize its real world
applications, critically engage it, and locate sources for advanced
research. Articles average 3,000 words, providing concise yet more
in-depth content than most textbook or encyclopedia entries.
|
|
|
Salem Health
 |
Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health
reference works. The first reference set included is Salem Press’
bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide. The Guide covers
diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy,
biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent
developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases
and disorders.
The second health reference set is Salem Health: Cancer. This
resource offers specific topics related to the symptoms, diagnosis, and
treatment of various cancers. It also investigates such subjects as
ethics, chemotherapy, complementary and alternative treatments, prayer
and cancer support, and informed consent.
You can search either of these health resources, or both together by
making the appropriate choice from the drop-down menu next to “From” in
the Search feature.
|
|
|
Salem History
 |
Milestone Documents in American History
is the first of five primary source resources from the Schlager Group
and Salem Press. It combines 130 full-text primary source Historical
documents with expert analysis and commentary.
|
|
|
Searchasaurus
 |
Searchasaurus
is EBSCO Publishing's user search experience for users in elementary
or middle schools. Complete with erupting volcanoes, dinosaur guide
and compass, Searchasaurus is an exciting and easy way for young
researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated
interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages young researchers to
enhance and develop basic search methodologies. They will be riveted
by the colorful, animated interface as they gather information on a
wide range of topics. |
|
|
Student Research Center
 |
The Student
Research Center provides students in secondary schools with the
most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information
that they seek from their EBSCO databases. Through the Student
Research Center, users can easily pre-determine which content
sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports,
Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also
search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online
dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day,
and even limit their search according to appropriate Lexile reading
levels.
|
|
|